About Koch Pipeline: Koch Pipeline employees have a vision for excellence and principles of operation that demand safe, environmentally responsible decisions and actions.

Koch Pipeline Company and Flint Hills Resources Award Scholarships to Corpus Christi-Area Students




CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – Flint Hills Resources (FHR) and Koch Pipeline Company (KPL) have helped 48 Corpus Christi-area high schools students advance their education this year by awarding each an Outstanding Student Scholarship. Over $60,000 in scholarships was awarded at the FHR/KPL Outstanding Student Scholarship banquet held on May 24 at the Solomon P. FHRKPLCorpusOSS2016(a)Ortiz Center.

“Helping young people improve their lives through education is important to us. We feel confident these dedicated students will achieve their academic goals and we congratulate them on their successes so far,” said Valerie Pompa, vice president and manufacturing manager for Flint Hills Resources Corpus Christi.

Scholarship recipients are nominated by their schools and selected based on their academic records, an essay on the concept of principled entrepreneurship, demonstrated leadership skills and participation in their communities. Recipients must also plan to pursue a field of study related to science, technology, engineering or mathematics.

“This year’s honorees represent a promising group of future leaders and we are proud to support them,” said Larry Van Horn, vice president of southern operations for Koch Pipeline Company. “It is very fulfilling to give scholarships to such commendable and deserving students.”

Combined, Flint Hills Resources and Koch Pipeline have awarded $184,500 in scholarships to students from South Texas high schools since 2014.

Congratulations to the 2015-16 honorees:

Flint Hills Resources Recipients

Samantha Wilmot – Annapolis Christian Academy Claudia Valdez – Aransas Pass High School
Sergio Flores – Aransas Pass High School Joshua Garcia – Branch Academy
Elyssa Laing – Calallen High School Tyler Hastings – Calallen High School
Jordan Balboa – Carroll High School Brandi Gardner – Carroll High School
Jose Martinez – Collegiate High School Caleb Michael McCann – Flour Bluff High School
Karlie Wilkinson – Flour Bluff High School Andrew Montgomery – Incarnate Word Academy
Jenna Clark – Incarnate Word Academy Summer Hesseltine – Ingleside High School
Jacob Zabel – Ingleside High School Natasha Stark – King High School
Hailey Chapman – King High School Anh Nguyen Thuy Le – London High School
Meera Sooda – London High School Ruth Cruz – Miller High School
Taryn Chapman – Miller High School Joshua Ragusin – Moody High School
Roland Mower – Moody High School Katherine Pesek – Odem High School
Pedro Vela – Odem High School Adrian Pichardo – Pope John Paul II High School
Marissa Guerra – Ray High School Abrianna Mauricio – Ray High School
Leila Cortez – Robstown High School Stephanie Garza – Robstown High School
Benito Zuniga – Tuloso Midway High School Chantz Mickens – Tuloso Midway High School
Tia McNary – West Oso High School Chelsie Melton – West Oso High School

Craft Training Center Recipients

Kevin Davila – Banquete Mikel Cookston – Calallen
Taylor Gillihan – Calallen Aron Reyes – Calallen
Leonardo Solis – Corpus Christi College Prep Daniel Cruz – Flour Bluff
Nicholas Laskowski – Flour Bluff Lorenzo Sanchez – Flour Bluff
Joshua McCabe – Orange Grove Raul Winters – Ray High School
John Valdez – West Oso

Koch Pipeline Company Recipients                      

Rosalia Garcia – Agua Dulce High School Kapil Mangrolia – Falfurrias High School
Sophia Sanchez – Falfurrias High School Derrick Staples – Pettus High School
Justin Mireles – Gregory Portland High School Juan Montemayor – Gregory Portland High School
Blake Janysek – Karnes City High School Amanda Chesser – Karnes City High School
Anthony McGuill – Refugio High School Loren Castellano – Refugio High School
Braden Samuels – Sinton High School Kristen Moore – Sinton High School
Aaron Saldana – Taft High School Roger Garcia – Taft High School